Hoofin’ it home

Hey there #latepost. So I went home (ie back to Canada) a while ago for a visit. Like almost 2.5 months a while ago. I’m hoping now that semester 1 (or 6, but who’s counting) is almost done, a new routine will start to develop: school, TA, research, horses, art, cook, eat leftovers, BLOG, rinse, repeat. Now that I’ve realized how much I enjoy not reading my textbooks, I’ll feel less guilty when I fill textbook time with food time :) either way, a barrage of #lateposts are coming your way! especially now that I found a fancy photo editor thingy for my iPad. Huzzah, blogging on the go! Now if I only had a tube ride during the day when I could actually blog while, genuinely, on the go…

Right so let’s talk about the title: hoof. The Black Hoof, in fact. A restaurant of this very same name and colour opened up in TO about 5 years ago, and I am so sad to say that I have only just recently been able to go visit. But man oh man did I enjoy myself.

I went out for a romantico dinner with a good friend of mine, and I was late and rushing and my other friend had had a bit of a meltdown and so I was basically all over the place, and I dashed in and my dinner companion took one look at me and said, “Darling let’s order you a drink and then you can tell me all about it. “. And so began a great night.

Over our first bevy, I told him all about my slightly ramshackle life. But then came the food, and my friend proved himself even more amazing, as he photog-ed it all for me! (He was at a much better angle than I was). Wonderful, no? Anyway, we first stuffed ourselves on foie (see below) then had some wonderful plates of marrow, tongue, and then something healthy, octopus salad! [No, there was no actual ‘salad’ in there. But it was delicious]. Feats your eyes, my pretties:

Foie gras

You can see by the lighting that this place was Very Romantico

Bone marrow

Oh bone marrow…

Squid salad

The “salad”

Beef tongue

And finally…the tongue! Not nearly as scary as Miley’s

As always, stay delicious folks ;)

Leave a Reply

