Butter My Biscuit

Peach butter. Is this an intuitive concept? Maybe it’s just me, but when I was flipping through a cookbook a few months ago, I came across this recipe and was a bit…confused. Why would you mix peaches with butter? I didn’t quite get it. Luckily, my intrepid, adventurous side urged me on and I read more, only to find out that peach butter is one of the most wonderful things imaginable. Spread on a scone, in yogurt, or on a spoon, I’m not quite sure how I managed life before peach butter.

This is gold. Liquid gold!

Luckily, the process is simple: remove the pit, slice and dice those babies up, roast them until they are blistered, and then blitz them in a food processor. I did not bother to skin the peaches, as I always opt for maximum return on flavour and laziness:

Nestling down for their beauty sleep

Then, pop the mash back into the oven to evaporate some of the water; you want a deep, rich peach spread, not a drippy mess.

This peach butter is just waiting to high five you

This peach butter is just waiting to high five you

I added a bit of salt, some lemon zest and juice, and some vanilla to the peach puree, before I put it back in the oven the second time. The first time I made this, I hardly had to add any sugar at all (maybe 2 Tbsp of brown sugar for about 8 peaches), but that was at the height of summer. When I made it the second time, with end-of-season peaches, I really needed to add a lot more – maybe about 1/2 – 3/4 cup to 10 peaches. Of course, this is all to taste – I prefer things on the less-sweet side. My mum would definitely disagree with me!

I know it may seem a bit…unusual to spend all this time and effort making something that you’ve previously lived life quite happily without. But let me tell you, in this day and age of yogurt and granola for breakfast, all day, everyday, your mornings will be so much happier with a little dollop of peach butter. The flavour is truly something special and brings juicy, earthy sweetness to…anything. A shoe. Hey, those early mornings are ripe for confusion; no judgment here [aside: I once knew of a very secretive club that made its members drink out of a shoe as part of the initiation ritual; that definitely would have tasted a lot better with a little dollop of peach butter!].

As a busy ‘professional student’, I don’t always have time to spend in the kitchen, whipping up special accoutrements for my breakfast (although I will say, I always try to make my own granola) but after making this the first time, I’ve not only made it a second time, but branched out into blueberry butter! Who knew fruit butters were so integral to life. Anything that jazzes up my breakfast, in a relatively healthy way to boot, is a keeper in my book [read: NOT A MORNING PERSON].

Stay delicious folks! ;)

Leave a Reply

