The Secret to a Better Morning

January is the time for new beginnings: new workout routines, new resolutions, new goals. Rather by accident, I’ve made a number of new changes: a hot yoga challenge, blogging for a new site, and posting more frequently. Yay for ambitious plans! One conscious change I’m really trying to make is to be more prepared each week, whether that means boiling up some chicken stock, making a meal plan for the week, or prepping breakfast things to grab when I’m inevitably late in the mornings (or all of the above). I fully intend to be prepared to meet Mondays head on and eyes (sort of) wide open!

Last weekend, I was so productive I scared myself: I roasted some apples and a quince to make a breakfast compote, to go with berry oatmeal and maple almond granola for breakfast; I tossed some freekah with a lemony vinaigrette to put in lunches; and I used up 2 chicken carcasses I had stashed in the freezer to make stock, which later turned into a super vegetable minestrone. And then I went to yoga.

It may have been a bit of a rush, but doing all this prep work early on has made every day this week go more smoothly – even today, when I slept past my alarm. …..

I may not have a plan for next week, but at least I can revel in this week’s success. And now…you can too!

All the things you need to make the morning bearable: coffee, granola, and...garlic.

All the things you need to make the morning bearable: coffee, granola, and…garlic.

 

Apple and quince compote...tastes so much better than it looks!

Apple and quince compote…tastes so much better than it looks!

 

Chicken bones bubbling away on the stove! All I need now is some eye of newt...

Chicken bones bubbling away on the stove! All I need now is some eye of newt…

 

The beginning of soup preparation. All the vegetables

The beginning of soup preparation. All the vegetables. And bacon.

Stay delicious my friends!

2 thoughts on “The Secret to a Better Morning

Leave a Reply

