Best-Ever Eggs

Eggs en cocotte

Okay so no dessert today – massive boo. We made Toblerone fondue* this week but just too excited to eat it, so no picture-taking commenced. This week was kind of busy, so not much dessert planning took place, but I’ve got all sorts of exciting ingredients at home (such as a 5 kilo bag of sugar), so stay tuned for further developments.

The next best thing to dessert, of course, is breakfast. I certainly don’t have the time to cook up a full English every day (and neither, I suspect, do you), so it always seems a real treat when I can spend some time in the kitchen on weekend mornings, puttering about. One of my favourite breakfast is this: eggs en cocotte. I like my eggs really really soft, and baked this way, they are soft and creamy and deliciously flavourful. One of my favourite things about them is that you can add in anything extra that you fancy, so even though the eggs themselves stay the same, these taste different every time I make them. My ideal way is with sautéed mushrooms, chillies and green onions, but that’s the beauty of it – anything and everything can be added to make these really your own. The only trouble is that I always try to stuff too much….STUFF in my ramekin and I have to readjust once I’ve added the egg :( oh weekend problems.

This is so easy that I certainly can’t claim to give a recipe, but here is my preferred method for making these delicious weekend delights:

My version of optional extras: meaty oyster 'shrooms

My version of optional extras: meaty oyster ‘shrooms

Eggs en Cocotte
(Makes enough for 2)

Ingredients
– 2 eggs
– 2 Tbsp cream
Optional extras: sautéed mushrooms, caramelized onions, chopped green onions, fresh/dried chillies, cheese of any sort, grilled veggies, wilted spinach, etc etc etc

Method
Preheat the oven to 425. Butter an oven-safe ramekin. Add in your ‘optional extras’, filling up to about halfway ONLY to avoid mishap. Crack in an egg, add 1 Tbsp cream, and sprinkle on salt, pepper, chopped green onion, chives, and/or any other spices you damn well want. Place your ramekins in a larger tin (I use a cake tin) with a big rim, and pour just-boiled water into the tin (NOT the ramekins) until halfway up the ramekin. You may want to base your choice of tin upon which has the highest rim and which will be easiest to carry half full of water. Put the tin, with the water and the ramekins, in the oven for approximately 20 minutes, and then take them out and evaluate doneness by giving them a jiggle. If they jiggle too much for you, back in the oven for another 5-10. Make sure to take them out of the water as soon as you take them out of the oven, because the hot water will continue to cook them. Enjoy with avocado sprinkled with sea salt and olive oil, bacon, and toast for dipping. Relish in your weekend treat!

Beautiful eggies

Beautiful eggies

*If you’re interested, Toblerone fondue is crazy easy, and so fancy: heat approximately 8 Tbsp oh heavy cream with some vanilla and 2 Tbsp liquor of your choice until barely simmering, then mix with one of those big bars of Toblerone or other chocolate, broken into pieces, and stir until melty; dip choice pieces of fruit, sponge or pound cake, and enjoy, both the fondue and the accolades.

Leave a Reply

