A Trip to the World Food Championships

I need to get better at these 4 am mornings.

Three weeks ago, I got the call; the call that all amateur (and professional, I’m sure) chefs, cooks, bloggers, and foodies dream of getting: someone had to drop out of the World Food Championships and they WANT ME TO TAKE THEIR PLACE. Yeah I’m kind of in medical school and all but…you only live once, right? When is the next time I’ll get a chance to compete at any kind of food event, much less an international one? Exactly never. And ergo, I find myself at the airport at 5 am, waiting for my first of 3 flights today, before my mum and I get up into kitchen stadium tomorrow and bake away.

Just doin' my thing at CFC; can't wait to do it again at WFC!

Just doin’ my thing at CFC; can’t wait to do it again at WFC!

In addition to the two cakes we made at the Canadian Food Championships (a chocolate-cherry-caramel-bourbon confection, and a coconut-vanilla-raspberry pound cake), we are also making a cupcake for our “Structured Build” (I have yet to understand why it is called this, since there doesn’t really seem to be either structure or a build involved). I don’t want to reveal our glorious cupcake just yet, but believe you me when I say that it is glorious. All the lovely taste testers (my dad, the people at my mum’s work, the 40 people at my Thanksgiving potluck this past weekend) said so. Equally more so because we had to come up with a recipe just within the last 2 weeks, from two different continents. I’m actually really really proud of this recipe because I feel like it might be the first one that I’ve come up with that really represents…me! More on that to come after the competition. It’ll be a busy week, but I’m so excited to compete again. I would say I can’t wait to see what the other competitors make, but… I can. Not to send bad karma out there, but…you know. Let’s be honest. I’m not flying halfway around the world to flop and end up 50th. I know they’re filming this but I don’t think they’re streaming it, so cheer me on in spirit! Competing tomorrow (Wednesday) at 2 pm EST. Will be keeping you posted via Insta throughout!
#foodbloggersforthewin #letstakeovertheworld

Leave a Reply

