On Finding Your Passion, and Rhubarb

Have you ever wanted to do something so so badly but just never seemed to find the time? Yeah, that’s blogging for me. I love it, love feeling creative and writing and seeing when people like what I write (or not, haha) and just putting something out into the world that seems authentically me. And yet, I never seem to have time for it. There’s TedTalk after self-help book after webinar about finding your passion and doing what you love and all that, but sometimes in order to get to your passion, you have to wade through the rough times first. And other times, just because you’ve found something you’re passionate about, that doesn’t mean that you should automatically decide to do that as a career for the rest of your life. I like to draw – but I draw for shit. If I ever want to eat again, I should definitely not become an artist.

I was watching this TedEx talk the other day by Terri Trespicio called, “Stop Searching for Your Passion“. I both want to find my passion and pursue it, and also sometimes feel guilty and self-indulgent for wanting this. I have some people telling me that I should follow my passion and other people tell me I should just do something that will help me earn a living so I can follow my passion on the side. I think I’ve come to the right decision for me, but listening to this TedEx talk put some of these issues into perspective. If you are struggling with this sort of existentialist crisis (and who isn’t, amIrite), give it a listen.

On another, more food-related note: I make all sorts of declarations and promises to myself that this week I will save time for blogging and this week I will make only a short post so that I can in fact make a post but….well you know the drill. Other passions get in the way! Sometimes though, I just gotta get some me time in. Even if I’m getting it in at 3 in the morning…

So: I’ve developed a new love for rhubarb. I am kind of trying to eat somewhat locally/in season (what a bore I know but like…carbon footprint! out of season tomatoes! these things haunt me) and I got so excited when I saw rhubarb at the grocery store because I finally understood how great it is when you see something for the first time in the spring: a harbinger of the new year, a fresh start, etc etc. Anyway, rhubarb with cardamom is basically my go-to for everything right now (yogurt topper? Check. Oatmeal topper? Check. Okay maybe that’s it but I eat a lot of oatmeal so it seems like a lot). I came across a recipe for a rhubarb and frangipane (does anyone know how to pronounce this?) galette and decided that I should make it, except…not with the frangipane.

Honestly, cooking like this, where I get inspired by a recipe but then just kind of do my own thing, is the epitome of my cooking life as a busy student. There’s no time for fussy recipes or ingredients I can’t come by easily but that doesn’t make I don’t want to try all the things in the magazines! I’m particularly proud about this one because I just knocked it out one night after the gym (as one does…). If you’re still with me, read on for a deliciously coconutty and easy rhubarb galette.

Rhubarb, plum, and coconut galette

Rhubarb, plum, and coconut galette

Rhubarb, Plum, and Coconut Galette

  • 1 bunch rhubarb
  • 3-4 plums
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • ~2 tablespoons sugar plus 1 tbsp demerara sugar
  • 2 tbsp rum (or more…)
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom (or to taste)
  • 1 measure puff pastry (thawed if it was frozen ** key step**)
  • 4 tbsp coconut milk/other kind of milk/an egg
  • Optional: chopped nuts to top
  1. Roughly chop the rhubarb and put it in a wide pan over medium heat. Add 2 tbsp of the sugar and let it cook down. Stir occasionally, mashing the rhubarb with a wooden spoon.
  2. Meanwhile, slice the plums into thin half-moons. No need to peel. Preheat oven to 350.
  3. Roll out the puff pastry into a rectangle or oval shape. The pastry should be thick enough that it won’t tear when you move it but not so thick that it feels doughy. Sorry, I didn’t get my ruler out so I can’t tell you how many cm it was…
  4. Once the rhubarb has cooked down (~10 min), add the desiccated coconut, the rum, a wee pinch of salt, and the cardamom. Taste, and add more of whatever you think it needs. Also make sure you taste your plums first before adding any extra sugar, as they will add sweetness. The rhubarb should have a thick spreadable consistency.
  5. Put puff pastry on parchment paper on a tray. Spread the rhubarb compote over the puff pastry, leaving a 1/2 inch border. Top the rhubarb with the slices of plum. Fold over the edges of the pastry so that it overlaps slightly on top of the rhubarb/plum situation. Brush the outside edges (ie the pastry part) with the coconut milk, and sprinkle the demerara sugar on the edges and all over the fruit. If desired, you could add some chopped nuts here for extra crunch.
  6. Bake for about 30-35 minutes: you want the crust to have a nice deep golden colour.
  7. EAT

I hope you enjoy my weeknight dessert! Stay delicious, all :)

Rhubarb, plum, and coconut galette

Rhubarb, plum, and coconut galette for miiilesss…

One thought on “On Finding Your Passion, and Rhubarb

Leave a Reply

